Lancashire Links

Lancashire History Websites

Websites for the whole of Lancashire

Lancashire Past – this site ! www.lancashirepast.com

Historic Society of Lancashire and Cheshire www.hslc.org.uk

Lancashire Archaeological Society www.lancsarchaeologicalsociety.wordpress.com

Lancashire at War www.lancashireatwar.co.uk

Lancashire Family History & Heraldry Society www.lfhhs.org

Lancashire Local History Society www.lancashirehistory.org

Lancashire Parish Register Society www.lprs.org.uk

Regional Heritage Society Lancaster University  www.lancaster.ac.uk/users/rhc

University of Salford Archaeology  www.archaeologyuos.wordpress.com

Friends of Real Lancashire www.forl.co.uk

 

Local History &  Archaeology Websites,  Societies  and Museums

Greater Manchester – South Lancashire Regional Boroughs

Bury

Ainsworth Village History Society www.ainsworthhistorysociety.org

Bury Archaeological Group www.buryarchaeologicalgroup.co.uk

Bury Archives and Local History www.buryculture.wordpress.com

Bury and District Local History Society  www.burylhs.org.uk

Holcombe Moor Heritage Group www.holcombemoorheritagegroup.org

Prestwich and Whitefield Heritage Society  www.prestwichheritage.co.uk

Ramsbottom Heritage Society  www.ramsbottomheritage.org.uk

Museums

Bury Art Museum     Bury Transport Museum      Fusiliers Museum

 

Bolton

Bolton Archaeological and Egyptology Society  www.boltonaes.co.uk

Great Lever and Morris Green Local History Society  www.greatleverandmorrisgreenlocalhistorysociety.co.uk

Halliwell Local History Society www.halliwell-lhs.co.uk

Horwich Heritage  www.horwichheritage.co.uk

Westhoughton History Group www.westhoughtonhistorygroup.org.uk

Museums

Bolton Museum        Bolton Steam Museum   Horwich Heritage Centre

 

Wigan

Wigan Archaeological Society www.wiganarchsoc.co.uk

Museums

Wigan Museum of Life      Astley Green Colliery Museum

Trencherfield Mill Steam Engine

 

Salford

Salford Local History Society www.slhs.btck.co.uk

Eccles Local History Society edhs.btck.co.uk

Walkden Local History Society wa.btck.co.uk

Museums

Salford Museum and Art Gallery

Working Class Movement Library

 

Manchester

Our Manchester manchesterhistory.net

Museums

Manchester Museum (The University of Manchester)

Museum of Science and Industry   Museum of Transport   People’s History Museum

Imperial War Museum North    Emmaus Heritage Centre

Pankhurst Centre     Gallery of Costume      Greater Manchester Police Museum

 

Rochdale

Middleton Archaeological Society www.middletonas.com

Whitworth Historical Society and Museum  www.whitworthhistoricalsociety.org.uk

Museums

Touchstones        Rochdale Pioneers Museum   Littleborough Coach House 

Greater Manchester Fire Service Museum  Ellenroad Engine House

 

Oldham

Chadderton Historical Society  www.chadderton-historical-society.org.uk

Museums

 Gallery Oldham    Saddleworth Museum and Gallery

 

Tameside

Tameside Archaeological Society www.tas-archaeology.org.uk

Denton Local History Society  www.dentonlocalhistorysociety.co.uk

Museums

Portland Basin Museum   Museum of the Manchester Regiment 

Park Bridge Heritage Centre

 

Stockport

Mellor Archaeological Trust www.mellorarchaeology-2000-2010.org.uk

Museums

Stockport Museum    Hat Works   Avro Heritage Museum

 

Trafford

South Trafford Archaeological Group www.stag-archaeology.uk

 

Lancashire Boroughs

Fylde 

Lytham Heritage Group  www.lythamheritage.co.uk

Fylde History Network www.fyldehistorynetwork.co.uk

Poulton-le-Fylde Historical and Civic Society www.poulton-le-fylde-hcs.co.uk

Museums

Lytham Heritage Centre    Farmer Parrs Museum and Heritage Centre

 

Wyre

Wyre Archaeology Group www.wyrearchaeology.org.uk

Garstang Historical Society www.garstanghistoricalsociety.org.uk

Museums

 Fleetwood Museum

 

Lancaster

Lancaster and District Heritage Group lancasterheritage.org.uk

Lancaster Archaeological and Historical Society lahs.archaeologyuk.org

Mourholme Local History Society www.mourholme.co.uk

Tatham History Society www.tathamhistory.org.uk

Museums

 Lancaster City Museum   Lancaster Maritime Museum    Cottage Museum                      Heysham Heritage Association

 

Furness –  Lancashire North of the Sands

Museums

The Dock Museum

 

Preston and South Ribble

Leyland Historical Society  www.leylandhistoricalsociety.co.uk

Longridge and District Historical Society www.ldlhs.org.uk

Preston Historical Society www.prestonhistoricalsociety.org.uk

Museums

 Harris Museum    Museum of Lancashire   South Ribble Museum

British Commercial Vehicle Museum   Lancashire Infantry Museum

Church Cottage Museum Broughton

 

Chorley

Chorley Historical and Archaeological Society www.chorleyhistory.co.uk

Brindle Historical Society www.brindlehistoricalsociety.org.uk

Chorley Heritage Centre www.chorleyheritagecentre.co.uk

 

Ribble Valley

Bowland Cave excavation www.shelteringmemory.wordpress.com

Chipping Local History Society www.chippinghistory.co.uk

Clitheroe Civic Society  www.clitheroecivicsociety.webs.com

Museums

  Clitheroe Castle Museum     Ribchester Roman Museum

 

Blackburn and Darwen

Blackburn Local History Society  www.blackburnlhs.org.uk

Cotton Town website www.cottontown.org

Darwen Days www.darwendays.co.uk

Museums

Blackburn Museum

Darwen Heritage Centre

 

Burnley and Hyndburn

Burnley Historical Society www.burnleyhistoricalsociety.com

The Briercliffe Society  www.briercliffesociety.co.uk

Hapton Heritage Group www.haptonheritage.co.uk

Hyndburn Local History Society www.hyndburnlhs.org.uk

Museums

Queen Street Mill Textile Museum   Hyndburn Heritage Centre Museum   Weavers Triangle

 

Pendle

Pendle Forest History Group www.pendleforesthistorygroup.co.uk

Museums

Pendle Heritage Centre   British in India Museum    Bancroft Mill Engine Trust

 

Rossendale

Rossendale Civic Trust  www.rossendalecivictrust.wordpress.com

Bacup Township Heritage Initiative www.bacupthi.org.uk

Bacup Times www.bacuptimes.co.uk

Valley of Stone www.valleyofstone.org.uk

Museums

 The Whitaker

 

West Lancashire,  Sefton and Merseyside

Liverpool History Society  www.liverpoolhistorysociety.org.uk

Merseyside Archaeological Society  www.merseysidearchsoc.weebly.com

Mere Brow Local History Society www.merebrow.com/historysociety.html

Ormskirk Historical society  http://ormskirkhistoricalsociety.co.uk/

Crosby Historical Society  www.crosbyhistorical.org.uk

Formby Civic Society  www.formbycivicsociety.org.uk

Knowsley Local History  www.history.knowsley.gov.uk

North Meols Family History Society www.nmfhssouthport.co.uk

Widnes  Historical Society www.widneshistoricalsociety.org.uk

Wirral and West Lancashire Viking Research Page www.nottingham.ac.uk/-sczsteve

Merseyside Tramway Preservation Society  www.mtps.co.uk

Museums

Museum of Liverpool   World Museum

Victoria Gallery and Museum                                   Merseyside Maritime Museum

Western Approaches : Liverpool War Museum    U Boat Story       The Atkinson

Port Sunlight Museum    Williamson Art Gallery and Museum

Prescott Museum   Williamson Tunnels Heritage Centre

 

Warrington

Warrington History Society  warringtonhistorysociety.uk

Museums

Warrington Museum

 

St Helens

Newton History newton-le-willows.com

Rainhill Trials  www.rainhilltrialls.com

Museums

North West Museum of Road Transport    World of Glass

Smithy Heritage Centre

 

Lancashire specialist sites

Roman Roads in Lancashire www.romanroads.org

Medieval Misercords in Lancashire  www.misericords.co.uk/northern.html

Manchester, Bolton and Bury Canal Society www.mbbcs.org.uk

The Victorian Society  www.victoriansociety.org.uk/Manchester

Steam Heritage www.steamheritage.co.uk

Heritage Trust for the North West htnw.co.uk

 

Further Afield

Glossop Heritage Trust glossopheritage.co.uk

Glossop and Longdale Archaeological Society www.glossopheritage.co.uk/glas.htm